//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Apple’s iOS7 Meets With Mixed Reviews, But Is It Really That Bad?

Consumers take to the Internet to vent their frustrations about the numerous minor bugs in iOS7, but in today’s society, are first world problems turning into headlines?

After weeks of anticipation, iOS7 for the Apple iPhone was released to less than positive reviews. The Internet imediately lit up with backlash, but it’s really not that big of a deal.

Social media was flooded by posts by businessmen and privileged children alike anticipating the impending release of iOS7 for their iPhones in the weeks leading up to September 18th. Anyone without an iPhone that logged onto Facebook wanted to jump off a bridge. As a matter of fact, so did most iPhone users. I know I did.

As soon as the update was released, the reception turned sour. Apps crashed, things weren’t where they were supposed to be, and the interface was…ugly.

That’s right, people were legitimately upset because their home screen was ugly. It didn’t meet up to their insatiable standards. “My eyes are burning” whined Michelle Romanowski. And as the hyperbole police take Michelle away, that leads us more self-aware consumers to ask ourselves, how spoiled of a society have we become?

I have an iPhone, and yes, I upgraded to iOS7. Yes, I think it sucks. Do I let it upset me? No! After a few setbacks, I always get done what I set out to at a rate so easy, it was unheard of just a few years ago. 2003 me would have KILLED to have the technology we have today. I can’t begin to explain how hard it was just to get my hands on a good MP3. Now today, I can access an artist’s entire discography of the utmost quality with a swipe of my finger. And I’m thankful for that.

I can’t say the same for most. They become so consumed in their technology that they become entirely dependent on it. Something as small as a button misaligned by four pixels becomes an issue. Now yeah, some issues can be a bit annoying, but how perfect can we expect a four-inch rectangle that fits in your pocket [language warning] that can do pretty much anything to be? Not even 20 years ago, the dancing baby was the most revolutionary thing in existence. Now, we can track our diets on the go, play games with console quality on the bus, and talk to an infinite amount of people anywhere in the world at any given time BUT GOD FORBID THE COLOR SCHEME IS A BIT OFF.

An accurate description of the activities of most social media queens over the past week or so.

An accurate description of the activities of most social media queens over the past week or so.

-quotes:

Johnson, L. (2013, September 27). Negative reviews increase for some iphone apps, highlighting ios 7 challenges. Retrieved from http://www.mobilemarketer.com/cms/news/strategy/16250.html

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Authors

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 1,420 hits
